Bookish Review: Bookworm Candles

Back in December, I took a deep breath and dived into the vast crowd of bookish candle. Prior to that, my entire candle collection only consisted of products included in bookboxes.

I had spent almost 6 months looking at the different shops on instagram, and I had a small checklist while deciding which one to try out.

  1. It should offer candles based on fandoms I follow. I’m generally not picky, but of course I’m more inclined to order something inspired by characters I already love.
  2. The shop should be based in the EU. This was a bit tricky, because there are a lot of absolutely gorgeous candles from America, Canada and Australia. Unfortunately, I am not made of money, so I needed a shop that would charge VAT to avoid getting caught in customs.
  3. The shop needed to offer some kind of bundle/sampler pack to an affordable price so I could try out, and review, more than one kind of scent.
  4. The candles should be aesthetically pleasing. I’m not a big candle buff, but I do enjoy using them as props for pictures and displays on my shelves. The scents are just an added bonus.

After looking through a bunch of shops, deals and otherwise drool worthy bookish merch, I finally settled on Bookworm Candles and Crafts.

Based in the UK it offered a mini tin bundle based on Throne of Glass and A Court of Thorns and Roses. Along with many others, I’ve fallen hard on the Maas-dom train, so obviously I decided to jump at the chance.

I bought 9 different candles, and while it was initially meant to be six scents from TOG and the rest from ACOTAR, I messaged the owner and asked if I could switch them up. There was no problem in that, and for that alone, the shop gets A+ in terms of customer service.

Plus, as something special, all candles have a handmade band/tinwarmer that gives off a sort of cozy look.

The shop also offers handmade bookmarks, soaps and jewellery.

So, let’s get to it, yeah?

NOTE: The opinions stated in this review are mine alone, and it only reflects the candles I own. It’s been 3 months since I ordered them, and obviously, changes may have occurred from the sellers side.

I am also prone to scent induced headaches because of my sensitive nose, which is something you should take into consideration if you make a decision based on this review.

THRONE OF GLASS – CHARACTER CANDLES

The five tins I chose were all based on some of my favorite characters from the series. And I admit, especially the book boyfriends.

AEDION

Based on The Wolf of the North, this scent is described as: Morning Dew, Tourquise & Rose Geranium.

My thoughts: With a gorgeous label, this mini tin is one of my favorite of the bunch. The scent isn’t too strong, and I find the scent of flowers very pleasing. The crocheted band around the tin is a signature mark of Bookworm Candles & Craft, and I actually think it makes the mini tin more aestethic pleasing.

🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

CHAOL

Based on Captain Westfall, this scent is described as: Leather, Swordplay & Home.

My thoughts: Despite looking lovely, I am not a fan of this scent at all. I won’t pretend to know anything about candle making, so I don’t think I can pinpoint exactly what it is. Best way to describe is that the “leather” kinda reminds me of the way a car smells after being in direct sun on a warm summer day. For hours.

I don’t regret buying it, because it is extremely gorgeous. However, I can’t have the lid open for too long before I feel queasy.

🌟🌟⭐⭐⭐

DORIAN

Based on The Princeling himself, this scent is described as: Glass chips, Pettigrain & Book pages.

My thoughts: Dorian’s label is one of my favorite ones because it’s so simple and clear. The scent isn’t one I find easy to describe, but it’s not headache inducing. Instead, I find it somewhere in the middle. The metal button on the crochetted band is my favorite of them all.

🌟🌟🌟⭐⭐

MANON

Based on The Wingleader, this scent is described as: Spidersilk, Burned gold & hope.

My thoughts: One of the reasons I discovered Bookworm Candles and Crafts was because Manon was the featured candle of the month in December. I fully admit to lusting after it because it was pretty. I mean, that red cape, though.

The candle itself if golden, and it has a very sweet and pleasant scent. I’m not sure I recognize the scent, but it kinda reminds me of honey.

🌟🌟🌟🌟⭐

ROWAN

Based on The Fae Prince Warrior, this scent is described as: Ice, Green Vines & Pine.

My thoughts: The candle itself has some green and red glitter, which fits the label and crochetted band perfectly. I did find it sort of christmassy at first, but I think it’s because I got the parcel around there.

The Pine scent is just a tad too strong for me, and it kinda drowns out anything else that might be there. I still like it though.

🌟🌟🌟🌟⭐

ACOTAR/ACOMAF INSPIRED CANDLES

NIGHT COURT

Based on the home of Rhysand, this scent is described as: Darkness, Answering Stars & Spirit.

My thoughts: This candle is my favorite of all nine. Perhaps I’m just a sucker for kinda fruity scents, but this candle is a perfect fit for me.

The purple candle is adorned with tiny silver stars, which is a nice touch.

🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

VELARIS

Based on The City of Starlight, this scent is described as: Bergamot, Honeysuckle & Rainbows.

My thoughts: Colored rainbow glitter, cute tin warmer. To me, the scent reminds me of soap. It isn’t bad, but I find it just a bit too strong for it to without a lid for a long time.

I absolutely love the tiny pearls in the band, though. It sparkles in the light.

🌟🌟🌟⭐⭐

STARFALL

Based on The Starfall scene, this scent is described as: Stars, Surprises & Hope.

My thoughts: The multicolored tinband is my favorite of them all. It’s just so pretty. Unfortunately, I find this to be one of the labels that’s kinda blurry. I don’t know if it’s the quality of the printer, or if it’s just the font size, but it was hard to photograph.

I also noticed that the label itself is cut up by hand. After noticing this, I checked the others and some are kinda skewed. It does give off that “handmade with love” vibe, though. But I imagine that some might not think so.

As for the scent… To put it bluntly, this candle smelled of wax with an underlying faint sugary scent. I’m not sure how else to describe it.

🌟🌟🌟⭐⭐

RHYSAND

Based on The Winged High Lord, this scent is described as: Rain, Salt & Sunrise

My thoughts: I was extremely excited about this candle in particular. I am, just like many others, obsessed with all things Rhys, and having my own candle to represent him was just… exciting.

Unfortunately, I can’t really distinguish the scents of this candle. When I first took a whiff, it reminded me of a gust of wind. As in, barely there at all. I have to admit, I’m not a fan. Kinda feels like a phantom scent.

I like the tinwarmer and glitter though. Especially how the band follows the colors on the label.

🌟🌟🌟⭐⭐

And that’s it.

Just to be clear, though. Even though this review may come off as rather harsh, I absolutely love my nine mini tins.

I think they are a great way to try out scents, and if I go back to buy a full size candle from Bookworm Candles and Crafts, I now know that Night Court and Aedion are safe to buy.

I also want to note that I’ve recieved a full size Kaz character candle in a recent bookbox, and while that one also has a scent of leather, it’s not even close to Chaol’s. I don’t know if it has anything to do with the batch itself, or even the size.

If you are unsure whether you want to buy these candles or not, I highly recommend trying out the mini tins. Not every shop offers them, but they are a great way to ensure that you won’t regret a purchase.

As it is, even though I didn’t love every scent itself, I’m rather pleased with my new selection of candles.

Have you tried Bookworm candles and Craft?

Leave a Reply

