Unboxing: Book Box Club November 2016

This is actually my third Book Box Club box. It’s also the only book box subscription where I’ve been a subscriber since the start in September.

The Basics first, as always.
Book Box Club is a monthly YA book subscription box, that doubles as an online book club with a live chat with the featured author in the clubhouse.

The founders have been in the bookish game since forever, and between the two of them, the box promises to deliver a discussion worthy book and a selection of amazing bookish goods.

In case you didn’t already, you can see my other unboxing posts for September and October.

The box is £27.99 + shipping, and they offer monthly subscription along with 3 and 6 months prepaid subscriptions

November’s theme was “Secrets and Sisterhood” and promised an early release of a thrilling new YA book, perfect for fans of E. Lockhart and Gone Girl. As always, it also included some gorgeous handcrafted goodies and bookish swag.
NOTE: The card on the box is covering my address, but was actually a lovely personal note from the founders. I adore these little personalized touches, and I squeal with delight each time.

The first item was a Shelfie Bunting from book box club.
I absolutely love this. Not only is it super cute with the tiny hearts, but it’s also one of those things that is decorative while also showing off how much I adore the box I received it in. To be honest, I wish every book box would make one of these, so I could hang them all on display.

I’m the kind of bookish addict that keeps the boxes on top of my TBR shelf, just in case someone visits and I can have a chance to fan girl. I am not even kidding, in the past month I’ve had Jehovah’s Witnesses and a volunteer from an animal shelter in my apartment. Neither of them left without a detailed explanation of my love for the book boxes.

So to support my obvious fangirling, I love little thingies that might become another topic of conversation. And so far I have 21 shelves to decorate, so just get comfortable with those scissors.

Fun Fact: I asked Libby and Kate which book they’d used for the bunting, and apparently it was Zom-B by Darren Shan. Guess who just sneaked onto my ever-growing wishlist?

The second item was this ANNE OF GREEN GABLES Coloring Card from Carrot Top Paper Shop.
I am probably one of the few people who have no idea what Anne of Green Gables are. I can guess from this box that it’s a book about two people who aren’t biologically related, but still share a kinship . But apart from that, I know very little about it. It’s a classic, right?

With that said, I do absolutely love coloring, so anything in that direction is a hit with me. Keep them coming, please. The more, the merrier.

These Two Sister-inspired Waterpaint Bookmarks from Till and Dill are probably among my favorite bookmarks ever.But, really I love bookmarks A LOT, so I’m probably kinda lying. These are super gorgeous, though.
Ever since these were introduced as suppliers, I’ve been not-so-covertly stalking their instagram. In case you ever feel like you simply have too much awesomeness lying around at home, just know: Mi Casa is totally your bookmark’s Casa too. Kidding… kinda…

Okay, not really. But they’re really gorgeous, okay?

Just… check them out at your own risk…

I adore bookish jewellery, and when it doubles as one of my favorite TV fandoms, as well… I’m basically in heaven.
This “BELIEVE IN SHERLOCK” Necklace from MadeByGolightLyx is perfect for any sherlocked fans out there.

I particularly love the key to 221b. I bet that’s going to start a few conversations when I eventually venture outside again.

To be honest, I was surprised about this item since it’s not directly inspired or related to the book or the theme. However, from my quick gandering, I believe it’s the mystery aspect of Sherlock Holmes that secured the spot for this item. And who am I to argue with that?

The last item in the box was this Sister Lit lip balm from Medusa Bijoux Shop.
It’s Mint scented, and it feels absolutely amazing. I’ve been using it every day since I recieved it, and my lips are thankful. The label is adorned with some of the most famous literary sisters.

Because it’s round, you can’t see it that well, but I’ll copy it over for you:

  • Meg, Jo, Beth & Amy
  • Katniss & Prim
  • Lennie & Bailey
  • Emily, Anne & Charlotte
  • Pauline, Petrova & Posy
  • Jane, Elizabeth, Mary, Kitty & Lydia
  • Tippi & Grace
  • Jessica & Elizabeth

I’m kinda embarressed to admit that I only know Katniss and Prim. Do you recognize others? Let me know in the comments, so I won’t embarress myself if someone asks who I’m wearing.

And as always, my favorite part of BookBoxClub is the extra bookish goods from the different publishing houses. These goodies were from Simon&Schuster and Bloomsbury. It includes:

  • A Pocket Mirror promoting “Stealing Snow” by Danielle Paige.
  • Four Post Cards promoting “One” by Sarah Crossan
  • Two Butterfly Pins promoting “The Diabolic” by S. J. Kincaid

I know, this is such a superficial thing to love, especially since they don’t have anything to do with the rest of the box like 98% of the time.

But, I just can’t help it. I love it. I’m a hoarder like that. Seriously, if anyone is wanting to dump excess bookish goods somewhere, Just… send them to me? I really want them.

I also really adore that it’s an extra the box puts in. Like, they don’t have to, since there’s no promises for it, but it’s just a nice thing to include. And the fact that they include it every month, makes me all happy inside.

In fact, the only other subscription box that includes something extra is Illumicrate, and that’s a quarterly box. Clearly, my needs far exceeds that, so please, do keep on throwing in anything you can in these boxes.

And finally, the featured book:

The Stranger Game by Cylin Busby
This book is described as a twisted, dark tale of a missing girl, and her younger sister who’s quietly relieved to be free of the taunts and torture from the cruel older sibling.

It does sound kind of scary, but also really good. I just hope I won’t be all paranoid of my own younger sister after reading it.

So that was the box in its entirety. As always, it’s evident that Kate and Libby puts a lot of thought into the theme, and I’m really happy to be a part of it.

The December theme is “Magic by Night” and will include another pre-release that’s perfect for fans of Maggie Stiefvater and the Night Circus. It’s on sale now, so don’t hesitate to secure your spot as they are selling out pretty quickly.

Just head on over to BookBoxClub and join the fun.

What do you think of this box? Would you pick up the book? Planning to check out any of the shops? 

💙💜💙💜💙

Let me know in the comments. 

↙️⬇️↘️ 

6 thoughts on “Unboxing: Book Box Club November 2016

  1. Elena Villarreal says:

    MoonKestrel here 🙂 Helping with the sisters first:
    Meg, Jo, Beth & Amy (Little Women, L.M. Alcott (spelling?))
    Katniss & Prim (Hunger Games)
    Pauline, Petrova & Posy (Ballet Shoes? Ballet Slippers? Emma Watson was Pauline in the film adaptation of the book, I read this book as a child so I forget :P)
    Jane, Elizabeth, Mary, Kitty & Lydia (Pride & Prejudice, Jane Austen)
    The others I am unsure, so I left alone. Hopefully someone else contributes 🙂

    I love the little extras, including the random kitchen tongs (I haven’t gotten any more random mystery items again 😛 but it was so fun!) And I totally love your pictures. Wish I could be as creative as that…

    Liked by 1 person

    • MajaDiana says:

      Owh… You’re the sweetest. I actually do try to pretty up the unboxings. I’m still in need of kitchen tongs, so hopefully It’ll be my turn next time. Lol, I could see the fun in making it a tradition to include tongs to a random subscriber from now on. Our own little founding member insider joke xD – also, none of those sisters ring a bell except prim and katniss. The lipbalm is good though.

      Like

Leave a Reply

