Unboxing: Fairyloot November 2016 

It is time to show off my amazing November fairyloot box. 

It arrived last week, less than five days after it was shipped. A+ for delivery—which usually is closer to an F- where I come from. Even the mailman was surprised when I told him. 

But first…

The basics:

Fairyloot is a monthly book box subscription from the UK. Every month they send out a carefully curated box with one recent YA Sci-fi/Fantasy book, and 5-7 bookish goodies from a variety of indie shops. 

Each box is 26£ + shipping. They offer single purchases, month-to-month subscription and 3, 6 and 12 months prepaid.

November’s theme was “Royals & Rogues” and it promised to be perfect for fans of Red Queen, Throne of Glass, The Wrath and the Dawn and A Court of Thorns and Roses.

I’ve read, and loved, three out of those four, so my excitement was through the roof.

So, now to the fun part… 

The first item I saw was the QUEEN OF BOOKS ceramic mug designed by ReadAtMidnight.

I showed it to my roommate, and he gave a pointed look at my TBR shelves and said it had arrived at the right place.

It’s always a pretty big risk to send out breakable goodies. Especially since shipping can take a toll on the boxes and their items.

However, the mug was encased in its own box inside the box, which made for a sturdier protection than just the usual purple paper worms.

I do hope every mug arrived safely across the world, because it sure is a gorgeous and useful item. I also hope it won’t be the last mug I’ll get in a box.

And to incite me to actually use the mug, Fairyloot sent out a bag of ROYALS & ROGUES tea from The Tealeaf Company, along with 10 disposable tea leaf filters.

To be absolutely honest, this is the third tea I’ve recieved in a book box, and while I’m definitely #TeamTea rather than Coffee, I just haven’t dared to use them yet.

I do like that there were some filters included. I don’t have one of those nifty bells to dump in my cup, so my tea experience so far has been limited to the Lipton teabags.

Hopefully, the amounts of tea I’ll collect will make me invest in an actual teapot.

My queen is without limitations. Boundless in all that she does.

– René Ahdieh, The Wrath and the Dawn

This gold and black CALIPHA Pocket Mirror was designed by Bookworm Boutique.

I’m starting to have a sweet little collections of pocket mirrors. Never cared much for them before, but I find them incredibly handy now. Plus, the designs on the back are all gorgeous, both the quotes and illustrations.

They aren’t easy to display, though.  So if any of you reading this have any ideas on how to show them off, let me know in the comments.

For now, they are among my bookish jewellery in a box. But I am open for suggestions.

I would be lying if I said I wasn’t a big fan of Sarah J. Maas’ “Throne of Glass” series.

So this QUEEN OF TERRASEN Notepad is right up my alley. It’s handlettered by Alexis Lampley and is an exclusive to this box.

As much as I love journals and notebooks, it’s nice to see some variety in the goodies. And the cute notepad here is pretty useful and cool.

When I saw this first,  I thought it was wax melts, but upon looking at the spoiler card, I found that it wasn’t.

Inspired by the featured book these SCENTED SPECTORIUM SOAP CRYSTALS were made by CraftyRagaMuffin

It smells absolutely delicious. And they look really cool.

Side note: I think I’ve mentioned this before,  but I absolutely love when boxes include a goodie related to their featured book.

Don’t get me wrong, I love having goodies around my favorite books, but as the new release hopefully should become a favorite too, it’s nice to have something to start a new collection with. 

Of course, I realise that this isn’t always possible as it takes time to come up with something fitting. But that just makes me appreciate it so much more when it happens.

Earlier this year, I binge read Red Queen, Cruel Crown and Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard.

So this illustration of the main character MARE is pretty cool. It was created by BookOtter and is an exclusive.

I love art prints a lot, so this was a cute little goodie. And if I flip it around… 

Rise as red as the dawn.

– Victoria Aveyard, Red Queen

This beautiful lettering was designed by LovelyOwlsBooks

I honestly don’t know which I prefer, so I would have liked if it weren’t doublesided.

It makes sense as they both are inspired by the same series, but I kinda want to show off both together.

Of course, that’s just a personal preference. Regardless, I still love them.

This item made me squeal like a love struck teenager who just saw their biggest idol.

That I will bow before no one and nothing but my crown. 

– Sarah J. Maas, A Court of Mist and Fury

Rhysand, my love… 

This RHYSAND QUOTE Tote Bag was designed by LovelyOwlsBooks who also designed the above lettering quote.

I don’t even like tote bags,  but the fangirl in me still squealed. I mean, it is gorgeous.  

Regardless, I’ll probably still make it into a decorative pillow. Simply because I want to display the gorgeousness.

Seriously,  I love this. 

And this bonus quote from Wolf by Wolf is designed by ReadAtMidnight (the person who also designed the mug)

I don’t know this book,  but i love getting little quotes to wet my appetite.

Seriously, I don’t know how many books I’ve bought because of some kind of promotional goodie.

That was all the goodies. Kinda… 

Since September, fairyloot have sent out their books in this super useful book bag. It still gives that mystery vibe,  but saves on paper. And they can be used again and again and again… You get the picture.

My two first book bags from September and October is currently residing on my shelf, adorned with bookish pins and badges.

Before, I didn’t really know what to do with the pins, but I find that these bags show them off pretty well. Plus, they’re great for storing notebooks, interviews, samplers and artprints. 

And from what I gather,  they can be pretty handy when it comes to transporting books in your bag. 

If you’re a fairyloot subscriber,  what do you use the bookbags for?

THE BOOK! 

I had such hoped that it would NEMESIS by Anna Banks in this box. 

To be honest, I wasn’t certain because it was released early October, but I am so happy it’s this one. 

Also included was a letter from the author, a signed bookplate, a bookmark, an illustration of a man-eating mermaid (I think) and of course and interview in the FairyScoop. 

– I also included the Soap Crystals because they fit with the book. 

As always,  the books are embossed with the fairyloot logo.

I know that some places mark the books on the edges to prevent people from returning it to the publisher for a refund.

That’s not a problem for me, but I have to admit that embossing seems far better. It’s subtle,  and makes it a bit special. I approve. 

All the book swag. I know that I basically just showed you this,  but I wanted to make a point to any bookbox owners,  authors or even publishers who might be reading this:

I. REALLY. LOVE. BOOK. SWAG. 

No,  but seriously. These items are gold both for the subscriber and for you.

Take the bookmark for example. As many of you know,  I’m relatively active in the bookstagram community on instagram. Now, and forever more, Anna Banks’ Nemesis will be promoted every time I show off my bookmark collection. 

Get that swag out into the world.  Or at the very least, to me. 

😆😆😆😆😆

And here’s everything in all its glory. Yes there’s two pictures, because I wanted to show both sides of the double sided art print. 

Verdict: In case it wasn’t obvious, this box is probably my favorite to date. It helps that the book was one I had anticipated, but really, I just enjoy the small things that makes up this box of awesomeness. 

THE DECEMBER BOX IS ON SALE NOW! 

There are limited spots left for the December box, and if you miss out, you have to wait, and hope, that there are some opened after December 1st.

The theme is Sci Fi adventure and is perfect for fans of Red Rising, Star Wars, Lunar Chronicles and the Starbound Trilogy. 

If you think this sounds awesome, pop over to http://www.fairyloot.com and purchase one.

💜💙💜💙💜

One thought on “Unboxing: Fairyloot November 2016 

Leave a Reply

