Unboxing: BookBoxClub October 2016

Recently, the founding members of the bookboxclub had their very own bookclub meeting. We all discussed September’s book “The Call” with the author himself. It was marvelous, and you should, in fact, be green with envy.

Alas, if you aren’t certain about this box, and whether it’s for you or not, then read on as I unbox the October box:

The Freedom Squad

But first the basics:

Book Box Club is an UK book box subscription that doubles as book club.

Every month, they send out a newly released YA book along with a few carefully chosen goodies.

As a member you get your own login details to the clubhouse where the monthly book club meeting is held. It also has a reading room where books are discussed leisurely.

The box is £27.99 + shipping, and if you follow @bookboxclub on instagram, you might be able to find a coupon for your first box. (They come and go, so keep a look out)

So let’s get to the goodies. . .

The invitation:

This little roll contains the invitation to the online book club meeting.

I couldn’t help but smile when I saw it, because in the last box I mentioned how moot the wrapping of the book would seem if the author was revealed the moment we opened the box.

I love when I can sense that the owners listen to their subscribers. It makes these detailed blog posts so more fun, as I can compare each month to its predecessor. Plus is makes it much easier to recommend boxes and even more fun to review them.

The items:

“A book lying idle on a shelf is wasted ammunition. ”

– Henry Miller

This bookish pin is designed by UK jewellery designer Lucie Ellen.

It’s very cute and shows off any bookish addiction in a very stylish way. Needless to say, I’m a fan. 😄

This silver package from DIY Blonde is like a gift inside a gift.

Maybe it’s just me, but I am obsessed with cute packaging. Almost as much as I love the things inside.

I HAVE A DREAM-CATCHER designed by DIYBlonde. Apparently she’s some kind of Craft expert and a Vlogger/Blogger.

I don’t know her, though. Probably because of my danishness. 🤔

The dreamcatcher IS gorgeous, though. I used to be super obsessed with them as I was younger, and even though I’m not as superstitious anymore, I still think it’s pretty.

My biggest problem is probably where to hang it to avoid tempting my cat.

It wouldn’t be a freedom squad without some kind of representation of the mockingjay herself.

This ‘Fire is Catching‘ art print from Always Yesterday fits perfectly with my Hunger Games cup from August’s Nerdybookwormbox.

I love when the goodies fit together.

ELIAS candle with the scent of spice, fire and rain from MerakiCandles.

My third Meraki Candle is just as gorgeous as the two others I’ve received in other boxes. I love the labelling and I proudly display them in a box on my shelf.

It doesn’t hurt that they smell lovely, as well.

I’ve said it before, but what I find super awesome about being one of the founding members of this particular box is that it feels so personal.

As we discussed last months book in the clubhouse, I came to thinking that we’ve created our own little community.

During the live chat we began joking with each other, and it felt like we were close.

It didn’t matter that every body else lived in UK, I still felt like I could arrange to meet them all at a café tomorrow.

This feeling is, for me, the thing that sets Book Box Club apart from other bookish boxes. And I hope it’s something they’ll work to maintain even though it might be hard as they continue to grow.

A special Book Squad magnet that binds us all together in our exclusive little club.

It’s a cute little plate, and it reminds me of the exclusive founding member’s pin I recieved in the first box.

Bonus Goodies:

From the awesome peeps at Bloomsbury and Walker Books.

A SHADOWHUNTER tote bag.

Sarah J Maas bookmark promoting her Throne of Glass series.

And her A Court of Thorns and Roses series.

Maas is probably one of my favourite authors, so I adored this.

Promotional bookmarks and other swag is one of my favorite things about this box. It might not be a big deal for others, but for me, it means a lot because if it weren’t for the box, I probably wouldn’t have any.

The Book!

Okay, so I haven’t actually taken a picture of the book alone, and it’s all grey and depressing now, so I’ll just show you the contents so far instead. 😄

😍😍😍😍😍

And finally: The Hypnotist by Laurence Anholt + a signed book plate.

It’s a novel set in the 1960 where a black orphan boy, a mute Native American servant girl, and an Irish Neurology professor forms their own little freedom squad.

Part of what I really enjoy about this box is that it features books I might not have picked up otherwise. I was pleasantly surprised by last months novel, and I’m thrilled about this one, as well.

There are still some November boxes left, so if you want to join up don’t hesitate.

The theme for November is “Secrets and Sisterhood” and it promises to be a thrilling read.

What do you think of the bookboxclub concept? Does it appeal to you?

3 thoughts on “Unboxing: BookBoxClub October 2016

Leave a Reply

