Unboxing: Fairyloot October 2016

It took some time, I admit. But I am finally ready to unbox my October Fairyloot. 😄

Fairyloot is a monthly book box subscription that caters to readers who enjoy Young Adult books in the genre Fantasy/Science Fiction.

A box is £26 + shipping. They’re based in London, and ship worldwide.

This is my third Fairyloot box, and when I saw the theme for October, I got all excited.

Introducing: Steampunk Rebellion

Fairyloot said:

This box is perfect for fans of The Infernal Devices, Divergent and general steampunk awesomeness.

I haven’t read much Steampunk before, but this specific sci-fi subgenre intrigues me quite a bit. There’s just something about the mix of old and new that appeals to me.

Moving on. . .

The first item was a Divergent inspired candle from Merakicandles.

There were six different candles based on the trilogy, and I recieved this Candor candle.

The scent is called flowers and ozone.

On a side-note, here you can see how my cat, Ziggi, approved of the scent enough to crash my photoshoot.

The next item is this Clock Washi Tape from the Fairyloot team.

I know that bullet journaling is growing widely popular, but I’m not on that particular bandwagon.

With that said, the tape is good quality, and the do add a rustic look to whatever you place it on. I’m definitely going to find something to use it for.

Next up was an Exlusive Special Edition Elias lipbalm from Behind The Pages. It smells lovely and has a glittery shine to it.

I haven’t read An Ember in The Ashes yet, but at least now I’m ready for it. 😉

Gina who made this lovely lipbalm also just launched a bunch of other amazing looking book boyfriend lipbalms, so maybe take a look to see if your fave is there. *coughRHYSANDcough*

I have to admit this now: I love when the items are wrapped in a way that doesn’t reveal what’s inside right away. I mean, it sorta feels like a gift in a gift, you know? Also, since this box actually was a birthday gift for myself, I appreciated it even more.

Not to mention the added benefit when it comes to shipping. The Danish Post system can be quite rough.

From Cogs and Curiosities I received this Clockwork Ring, with actual clock parts in it. I personally think it looks kinda like a smiley face.

And because no Steampunk look is complete with just a ring…

This Mechanical Butterfly Necklace from the Fairyloot team adds to my—apparently growing—steampunk themed jewellery collection.

I absolutely love it. It’s gorgeous.

Designed by Read at Midnight this gorgeous teatowel features a quote from The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare.

On another note, can I please get more of those holders with the theme name? It’s the perfect sign for unboxing pictures.

One must always be careful of books and what is inside of them

For words have the power to change us.

– Clockworld Angel, Cassandra Clare

And to top off The Infernal Devices goodies, here’s a Magnetic Bookmark from Happy Hello.

Two different were sent out, and I got Will, which fits me nicely. Can’t wait to finally read the books to meet him.

Another book bag! I fangirled hard about this feature in my last unboxing, and I still love this little piece of fairyloot swag. Useful and pretty.

The featured book was Metaltown by Kristen Simmons. It came with a signed book platr, a letter from the author, a rebellion badge and an interview.

The book sounds like an amazing tale of friendship, and I can’t wait to read it as soon as possible.

Here’s the blurb from Goodreads:

Metaltown, where factories rule, food is scarce, and hope is in short supply.

The rules of Metaltown are simple: Work hard, keep your head down, and watch your back. You look out for number one, and no one knows that better than Ty.

She’s been surviving on the factory line as long as she can remember. But now Ty has Colin. She’s no longer alone; it’s the two of them against the world. That’s something even a town this brutal can’t take away from her. Until it does.

Lena’s future depends on her family’s factory, a beast that demands a ruthless master, and Lena is prepared to be as ruthless as it takes if it means finally proving herself to her father. But when a chance encounter with Colin, a dreamer despite his circumstances, exposes Lena to the consequences of her actions, she’ll risk everything to do what’s right.

In Lena, Ty sees an heiress with a chip on her shoulder. Colin sees something more. In a world of disease and war, tragedy and betrayal, allies and enemies, all three of them must learn that challenging what they thought was true can change all the rules.

😍😍😍😍

The verdict:

I still love the book bag, and as mentioned above, I love the label that was around the tea towel, as well.

Even though it’s not feasible to place one in each box, I actually love how it sorta put a title to the picture.

The jewellery was gorgeous, and I had so much fun when I tried them on for a Steampunk photo.

That reminds me: Fairyloot is holding a Steampunk photo contest, where we basically has to throw cogs and keys and tons of props in to make a Steampunk unboxing picture.

This will be my entry:

It was so much fun to make, and I hope this will be repeated. Not necessarily as a contest, but also just for fun? Bookstagram is such a big part of my life now, so opportunities like this really gets my mind spinning with ideas.

Did you recieve this box? What were your thoughts?

Also, did you notice I took some more care with the items pictures this time? Do you like that, or is it not important to you?

Let me know in the comments. 😉

⬇️⬇️⬇️⬇️

2 thoughts on “Unboxing: Fairyloot October 2016

    • MajaDiana says:

      Thank you. I’m glad you like it. 😄 I spent some extra time making the pictures look decent this time rather than just the item on my bed as before. Fairyloot is a pretty awesome box too 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

