Unboxing: Nerdybookwormbox August 2016

I received my Nerdybookwormbox a while ago, but I have been too preoccupied to upload an unboxing. However, here it is.

The September theme was Dystopian, and despite being my least favorite box from nerdybookworm to date, it still included some of my favorite items ever.

I still love the blue box so much. Can’t explain it..  I just love it.
The items… 

The second issue of The Nerdy Bookworm’s own mini magazine “Owl Hoots”.

All of the quotes below were taken from the August spoiler page, so all the love to the Nerdy Bookworm Team for providing book quotes to go with their items. 

My opinion: It shouldn’t come as a surprise to anyone that I love the concept of this mini magazine. My mind is reeling with the possibilities it opens.

“He began his new life standing up, surrounded by cold darkness and stale, dusty air.”

– James Dashner, Mazerunner

The Glade wax melts custom-made for this box by Owlchemy.

My opinion: Despite having all the Mazerunner books on my shelf, I have yet to read any of them. Furthermore, I don’t own a wax melt thingy. In fact, before bookstagram I didn’t even know what the purpose of them were.

I mean… They’re like scented candles, right? But only the wax part… I just… I don’t get it. Perhaps it might be the fact that I’m Danish or just horribly outdated in home decor stuff, but… I don’t really know what to do with this item. At least it’s kinda pretty.

“I want to be brave, and selfless, and smart, and kind, and honest.”

– Veronica Roth, Divergent

Abnegation and Amity magnetic bookmarks from New Leaf. 

My opinion: It is actually less than three months ago that I discovered what magnetic bookmarks actually was. I love the concept of them, and I find it to be an awesome goodie to get.

The only downside is that I haven’t actually read Divergent. I think I saw the movie once, but I barely remember it. Obviously, I have to get right on that. Now I just need to find the books somewhere.

“I am not abnegation, I am not dauntless. I am divergent.”

-Veronica Roth, Divergent

I’d rather be divergent keychain from Fable and Black

My opinion: I really like the design here. Its simple, but nice. I’m also a sucker for keychains. I actually used to collect them. 

I already mentioned the downside of having Divergent merch. But it really hasn’t stopped me before. 

“Fire is catching. And if we burn, you burn with us.”

– Suzanne Collins, The Hunger Games

Fire is Catching mug designed by the Nerdy Bookworm Team. 

My opinion: This. Is. Awesome. 

No, really. The cup is plastic, which ensures that it arrived safely. After seeing the state of my other boxes, I’ve been kinda worried about having any kind of mug sent to me. So when I received this, I was super happy. 

It also helps that I’ve actually read Hunger Games, #TeamPeeta all the way. 

Out of all the items, this is probably my favorite. Not just in this box, but in any of the boxes I’ve received. 

I. Love. Mugs. 

“I volunteer as a tribute!”

– Suzanne Collins, The Hunger Games

Arrows and Anarchy Fandom Coffee Sachet from Cracked Black Inc. A Hunger Games inspired Coffee blend.

My opinion: I am not a coffeedrinker. Which is a shame, because I honestly love the fact that they sent something drinkable along with the mug. 

My plan is to try and brew it for my mom some time.  She’s been bugging me about the fact that I won’t share any of my bookbox goodies with her. We’ll see what she thinks of it.

“I’ll hold onto the world tight some day. I’ve got one finger on it now; that’s a beginning.”

– Ray Bradbury, Fahrenheit 451

A beautiful Fahrenheit 451 poster designed by The Nerdy Bookworm team.

My opinion: I love the art on this thing, and once again, The Nerdy Bookworm Box delivers their art on high quality poster paper. 

I am not familiar with the book, though. But from my google search I gather that it’s a classic—or something like that. Since I have read almost no books from before the 90’s, I believe that’s the reason I know nothing of the book.
And finally… 

The book! With a cute little arrow charm. I really love those charms. 

Unplugged by Donna Freitas

From Goodreads:

Humanity is split into the App World and the Real World—an extravagant virtual world for the wealthy and a dying physical world for the poor. Years ago, Skylar Cruz’s family sent her to the App World for a chance at a better life.

Now Skye is a nobody, a virtual sixteen-year-old girl without any glamorous effects or expensive downloads to make her stand out in the App World. Yet none of that matters to Skye. All she wants is a chance to unplug and see her mother and sister again.

But when the borders between worlds suddenly close, Skye loses that chance. Desperate to reach her family, Skye risks everything to get back to the physical world. Once she arrives, however, she discovers a much larger, darker reality than the one she remembers.

It sounds awesome. 

Overall opinion: I’m aware that not every box can be a hit with every person that receives it.  It’s not the Nerdy Bookworm Box’s fault that I haven’t read 3 out of the 4 books that inspired the items. 
Likewise, it’s not their  fault that I don’t like coffee or that I’ve never used Wax melts in my life. 

This was a good box—just not for me personally, I think.

6 thoughts on “Unboxing: Nerdybookwormbox August 2016

  1. saturdayonwednesday says:

    I’m not sure how I feel about plastic cups (the sturdier/heavier the better for me with my cats knocking things over left and right) but I do see your point, slim chances of a proper one arriving intact.
    P.S. *whispers: team Peta all the way here too*

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

