Unboxing: Illumicrate August 2016

Illumicrate is a UK box that sells every three months. This is great because:

  • UK boxes means no custom fees + they arrive faster to Denmark.
  • If the budget is a bit tight, the fact that it comes every three months makes it pretty convenient.

The box costs £29.99 and includes free shipping within the UK. For international subscribers there’s an additional shipping fee. (around 10£ but check to be sure)

I’ve begun to hunt down hints for my bookboxes since I’ve ordered so many of them, and I dread duplicates.

So for this box (which btw is Illumicrate’s fourth box) I had gathered that it would include two books. Both Fantasy. And that there would be a special tea blend, plus something harry potter related.

I’m proud to announce that I guessed one of the books in the box.

So… What was in the box?

Let’s just take a small moment to appreciate the yellow.

Okay… Moving on…

The Goodies:

A Drink Me Strawberry Tea exclusively from Post Tea. I have no idea how it tastes, but it smells lovely. This will be put to good use when the late-summer cold comes around.

Two Harry Potter themed coasters made by the talented taratjah. I already got. Another piece from her from another box.

The coasters shows the trio from then and now (The Cursed Child).

A totebag from Colorful Geekiness. With the quote In Omnia Paratus (ready for anything) it’s a Gilmore girls inspired item.

Two lovely coloring quotes from Six of Crows and the Grisha Trilogy by Ashley Poston.

I’m a big fan in of adult coloring, so every time I get a new piece I kinda freak out a bit.

The Books:

A Hardcover copy of Nevernight by Jay Kristoff. I’ve only peaked a bit so far, but the map os gorgeous, and there’s the cutest typo on the dust cover flap in the back. (It says that Jay Kristoff is the bestselling author of “Neveright”.

It came with a lovely book plate, that’s now stuck inside the book.

A pretty little Nevernight bookmark.

And a cover art print.

There’s also a video from Jay Kristoff, but I haven’t seen it yet.

– This was the book I had hoped it would be, and it was only made better by the little swag pack. I also prefer this cover compared to the US cover, so it’s all good!

The Graces by Laure Eve was the other book. This book won’t release until September, so Daphne definitely pulled magic off here.

It came with a handwritten letter from the author.

Temporary tattoos with witchy symbols.

A signed book plate—now stuck inside the book.

What else?

Apparently, Illumicrate puts something extra in their boxes, as well. I saw some got a sampler, which wasn’t in mine. But I had tons of discount coupons and four absolutely gorgeous art prints from Red Rising by Pierce Brown.

They’ve been on my wishlist for a while, so now I have at least four good reasons to move it up my shopping list.

😍😍😍😍😍

I even found a way to display them using the magnetic red string from my Quarterly box.

^Pardon the mess. I’m still experimenting witg systems.

Overall thoughts?

I’m kinda sad that I didn’t get the “A Torch Against The Night” sampler. But I think they’re limited since they call it “extras”

But apart from that, I do love most of this box more than I can explain.

The art prints in particular are all super gorgeous, and they make me want to get my hands on the books asap.

I’m still not a fan of totebags, but I like the Latin quote.

All the discounts are pretty rad too, but after I had to pay 30$ to get a pillow to 25$ from. Customs… I’ve been hesitant to buy more online.

Let’s see how long that lasts, though.

The books, the swag and the goodies were all top notch, and I do hope I’ll continue ordering this box if it keeps being this awesome.

14 thoughts on “Unboxing: Illumicrate August 2016

Leave a Reply

