Unboxing: The YA Chronicles July 2016

So, while I technically first got this box on August 1, it arrived in Denmark over a week prior. Unfortunately, customs are really slow.

Alas, now I have it, and with a theme that’s “Ladies who Slay” how can I not be thrilled?

Unfortunately, customs roughed up the parcel, + placed a big ugly sticker on top of the logo. Not to mention they drew on it with red marker.

😕

I know it’s “just” a box, but I love to have them around my home, so that whenever I’m down I can look at them and remember the joy of opening it. Maybe that’s just me, though.

Which is why I got stubborn and decided to “fix” the box with a sharpie. And the result?

Hehe.

Right! Moving on to the items.

That’s how the logo actually looks. I was pretty close, right?

Two bookmarks. I actually really love that the r YA Chronicles have their own bookmarks, and I really wished other boxes made their own too. Its such a good promotion opportunity, and who doesn’t love bookmarks?

Apparently this is a temporary tattoo inspired by Tris from Divergent. I’m actually one of the few who haven’t read the Divergent series. At least not yet. Maybe some day, though.

You can get your own at WelcomeToTheHub’s etsy shop.

This compact mirror with Sailor Moon print is a collaboration between JuicyGinger on etsy and Button Empire.

I grew up watching Sailor Moon in morning TV, so I got a very pleasing flashback to those days when I saw this.

This gorgeous keychain from BelleRegalia was a big hit with me. Like so many else, I have fallen head over heels for Sarah J. Maas’ world. And every kind of merchandise that can show off how much in love I am with Rhys are welcome in my home anytime.

Apparently this is a necklace of Hermione’s wand. I have to be honest, though. I thought it was supposed to be a sheath for a sword 🙈

Nevertheless, I really love it—no matter what it’s supposed to be. 💙

And finally we have the book.

“And I Darken” by Kiersten White has been on my wishlist ever since its release. So even though I got spoiled with the book, I honestly didn’t mind. Just one more thing to look forward to. 😆

In case you’re curious, here’s the blurb from goodreads:

No one expects a princess to be brutal. And Lada Dragwlya likes it that way. Ever since she and her gentle younger brother, Radu, were wrenched from their homeland of Wallachia and abandoned by their father to be raised in the Ottoman courts, Lada has known that being ruthless is the key to survival. She and Radu are doomed to act as pawns in a vicious game, an unseen sword hovering over their every move. For the lineage that makes them special also makes them targets.

Lada despises the Ottomans and bides her time, planning her vengeance for the day when she can return to Wallachia and claim her birthright. Radu longs only for a place where he feels safe. And when they meet Mehmed, the defiant and lonely son of the sultan, Radu feels that he’s made a true friend—and Lada wonders if she’s finally found someone worthy of her passion.

But Mehmed is heir to the very empire that Lada has sworn to fight against—and that Radu now considers home. Together, Lada, Radu, and Mehmed form a toxic triangle that strains the bonds of love and loyalty to the breaking point.

It sounds so awesome!

So that was the “Ladies who Slay” box from The YA Chronicles, and I absolutely loved it. Even Ziggi approves 💙

Have you ever tried this box? What did you think?

11 thoughts on “Unboxing: The YA Chronicles July 2016

  1. saturdayonwednesday says:

    I completely get you, I would also be slightly upset if I got my box all roughed up. And as for Divergent series, I read the first one and then somewhere halfway the second one I was done. It wasn’t very good, at least not for me. And I don’t have high standards at all hah xx This book seems interesting though!

    Like

    • MajaDiana says:

      I’ve been extremely unlucky with my parcels this July. Fairyloot was roughed up (the box), nerdybookworm box was roughed up and the paperback book was bent, my alice box from the bestdamnbookbox didn’t even come with a box, but the carrier had placed it all in a UPS bag. And now this one. I guess I just got enough of it. I know I won’t be able to order many others in the future, so i want the boxes as a keepsake. Plus… There’s ALWAYS something to use a box for.

      And yes. This book sounds really good. Apparently it’s like a genderbent Vlad The Impaler story. I’m not familiar with the actual story but I think it’s a pretty unique idea. XD

      Liked by 1 person

      • MajaDiana says:

        I’m super excited about the September box!

        And… Out of the ones I’ve tried so far, The Nerdybookworm box is my favorite. Of course, I might be biased since it was my first, and I’ve got 2 so far. But it’s the only one I want a monthly subscription to. I did order the September Fairyloot box too, just for kicks, but I think that might be on a “this theme sounds good” basis. I did enjoy theyachronicles too, but for me, living in Denmark, it’s just not worth it to go through the hassle with customs every month. Which is probably why I won’t order that many boxes from outside eu again 🙂 of course, I still have a lot that I need to receive before I make the final judgment. XD

        Liked by 1 person

      • saturdayonwednesday says:

        That sounds about right, the nerdybookworm will be my first too, aww. I originally considered the OwlCrate, but realised it’s silly to pay double just for shipping to UK, so I can only imagine how frustrating it must be to pay more to get it to Denmark! I wish postage was free. All the time. Everywhere. 😀

        Like

      • MajaDiana says:

        The postage isn’t even the worst. Honestly. My problem is that I’ve had to pay like.. 18£ just to get custom to release the parcel because the VAT wasn’t added at checkout by the sellers.

        I considered owlcrate too, and in some ways, I still do because it would feel silly if I just didn’t support that one, as well. But for now, that will have to wait until my bank account is somewhat back to health, and when there is a theme that I just *have* to get.

        Liked by 1 person

      • saturdayonwednesday says:

        I had that ordering from America too, it’s such a shame. And it’s absolutely random too so just to add insult to your bank account. Might as well, right. If you order from elsewhere and get the customs it’s pretty much you done for the month ( or I would be if I were sensible).

        Liked by 1 person

      • MajaDiana says:

        It really sucks because the VAT is only 25%. I mean. For all my boxes from US the VAT would equate to roughly 60£ however the import fee alone is 120£ for all of them. I would gladly have paid the 60£more to avoid the import fee.

        I’ve asked the different boxes to at least look into the possibility of charging VAT at check out. But who knows whethef they actually manage :/

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

